Physiotherapy of Sport Bascharage

The sports physiotherapist plays a vital role in the recovery and preparation of amateur or professional sportsmen. He must treat, relieve and rehabilitate his patients to allow a return to the field as soon as possible and possible conditions. To do so, he is in contact with the doctor, the trainer and the physical trainers.

For many, sports activity takes a major place in everyday life. If it is a real way of life for some, the objectives are multiple: leisure, performance / competition, evacuation of accumulated nervous tension, prevention of cardiovascular disorders …

A Taiwan study published in 2011 in the medical journal The Lancet, showed that a moderate physical activity of 15 minutes per day or 90 minutes per week could reduce overall mortality by 14% and thus contribute to an increase in expectancy. life of 3 years. As soon as an injury occurs, the athlete is forced to stop his sporting activity, which can lead to a feeling of physical or even psychological lack …

It is at this moment that the physiotherapist of the sport intervenes. However, if the sports physiotherapist intervenes during this phase of rehabilitation, is it not his role also to “prevent” the injury?

When to see a Sports Physiotherapist?

The prevention will aim to avoid the injury by offering you post-exercise recovery care (competitions, marathon, trail, triathlon etc …), various exercises of muscle strengthening, stretching, both analytical and global (functional ).

Rehabilitation comes after an injury. Indeed, sports activity is a source of injuries that can force the athlete to stop and leave behind. It’s important to never underestimate even minimal injury. The aim of the reeducation will be to restore the physical (and psychological) integrity of the athlete, to avoid chronic pain due to the injury, to reduce the acute pain, to recover the articular amplitudes, to carry out a muscular reinforcement, to work balance … The return to the field will be done in stages in agreement with the patient and the staff (coaches, doctors …)

Reathlisation occurs during and after the rehabilitation phase.

During the rehabilitation phase, it is for example to maintain the cardiorespiratory capabilities of the athlete. The re-training program is individualized: it takes into account the sport practiced, the physiological parameters of the athlete and the characteristics of his injury. Sometimes this break with the competition is beneficial to the athlete and allows in particular to address other aspects of physical preparation. The goal is to give the coach an athlete in the best physical shape possible and facilitate its recovery. Reathlisation must never interfere with rehabilitation or healing, the goal of rehabilitation being to find the function of the injured party, while re-athleticization focuses on athletic qualities.

After rehabilitation, reathlisation will allow to set up very individualized exercises taking into account the physiological parameters, morphological and especially the characteristics of the injury or the patient’s surgery. The goal is to restore the patient’s state of physical fitness before injury or “better”. This supervision can be completed by the intervention of a dietician / nutritionist and / or a psychotherapist. “Mental re-athleticization” is often necessary (example: after an ACL operation only 38% of athletes return to the same level of sport while 92% of athletes have found all the functional abilities of their knee)

Kinésithérapie du Sport Bascharage

Le kinésithérapeute du sport joue un rôle essentiel dans la récupération et préparation des sportifs amateurs ou professionnels. Il doit soigner, soulager et rééduquer ses patients afin de permettre un retour au terrain dans les meilleurs délais et conditions possibles. Pour se faire il est en relation avec le médecin, l’entraineur et les préparateurs physiques.

Pour beaucoup, l’activité sportive prend une place majeure dans le quotidien. S’il s’agit d’un véritable mode de vie pour certains, les objectifs sont multiples : loisir, performance/compétition, évacuation de la tension nerveuse accumulée, prévention des troubles cardiovasculaires…

Une étude taïwanaise publiée en 2011 dans le journal médical The Lancet, a montré qu’une activité physique modérée de 15 minutes par jour ou de 90 minutes par semaine pouvait diminuer la mortalité globale de 14 % et contribuer ainsi à une augmentation de l’espérance de vie de 3 ans. Dès lors qu’une blessure se présente, le sportif se voit contraint d’arrêter son activité sportive, pouvant entrainer un sentiment de manque physique voire psychologique…

C’est à ce moment là que le kinésithérapeute du sport intervient. Néanmoins, si le kinésithérapeute du sport intervient pendant cette phase de rééducation, n’est-ce pas son rôle aussi de « prévenir » la blessure ?

Quand consulter un Kinésithérapeute du Sport ?

La prévention aura pour but d’éviter la blessure en vous proposant des soins de récupération post-effort (compétitions, marathon, trail, triathlon etc…), différents exercices de renforcement musculaire, d’étirements, à la fois analytiques et globaux (fonctionnels).

La rééducation intervient suite à une blessure. En effet, l’activité sportive est source de blessures qui peuvent contraindre le sportif à s’arrêter et laisser des séquelles. Il est important de ne jamais sous-estimer une blessure, même minime. La rééducation aura pour but de restaurer l’intégrité physique (et psychologique) du sportif, d’éviter les douleurs chroniques dues à la blessure, de diminuer la douleur aiguë, de récupérer les amplitudes articulaires, d’effectuer un renforcement musculaire, de travailler l’équilibre… Le retour au terrain se fera par étapes en accord avec le patient et le staff (entraineurs, médecins…)

La réathlétisation intervient pendant et après la phase de rééducation.

Lors de la phase de rééducation, il s’agit par exemple d’entretenir les capacités cardiorespiratoires du sportif. Le programme de réathlétisation est individualisé : il tient compte du sport pratiqué, des paramètres physiologiques du sportif et des caractéristiques de sa blessure. Parfois cette coupure avec la compétition est profitable au sportif et permet notamment d’aborder d’autres aspects de la préparation physique. L’objectif est de rendre au coach un sportif dans la meilleure forme physique possible et de faciliter sa reprise. La réathlétisation ne doit jamais nuire à la rééducation, ni à la guérison, le but de la rééducation étant de retrouver la fonction de la partie lésée, alors que la réathlétisation se concentre sur les qualités athlétiques.

Après la rééducation, la réathlétisation permettra de mettre en place des exercices très individualisés tenant compte des paramètres physiologiques, morphologiques et surtout des caractéristiques de la blessure ou de la chirurgie du patient. Le but est de faire retrouver au patient son état de forme physique d’avant blessure voire “meilleur”. Cet encadrement peut être complété par l’intervention d’un diététicien/nutritionniste et/ou d’un pschychothérapeute. La “réathlétisation mentale” est souvent nécessaire (exemple : après une opération du LCA seulement 38 % des athlètes reprennent le sport au même niveau alors que 92% des athlètes ont retrouvés toutes les capacités fonctionnelles de leur genou)